Het hondje Sachi

Rico Brouwer
4 min readAug 19, 2019

(for English scroll down)
Ruim een jaar geleden overleed mijn tante Elly. De dag ervoor was ik er op bezoek. We kletsten en ik vertelde over hoe onze kinderen graag een hondje wilden en dat ze hadden uitgezocht dat het een ‘Eurasiër’ zou worden (dat is een zeg-maar Europees/Aziatisch hondenras dat is ontstaan uit een kruising tussen de Wolfsspits [keeshond], Chow-Chow en Samojeed).

Voor mij was ze ‘tante van de oude toren’ naar de ruïne van de Slotbosse toren van Oosterhout waar ze vroeger vlak bij woonde met haar man. Maar voor onze kinderen was ze ‘tante van het hondje Sammy’. Tante en ik spraken af dat we het hondje van haar zouden krijgen en ze besloot dat het een teefje moest worden.

In de nacht stuurde ze me een SMSje: ze had een naam bedacht: ‘Hachi’, naar de film Hachiko: A Dog’s Story (2009), die gaat over de vriendschap van een Japanse hond met zijn baasje.

Sachi

Afgelopen jaar is er veel in ons leven veranderd, maar een hondje kwam maar steeds niet. Tot in de zomervakantie. Er was een nestje in België met drie teefjes dat al een maand oud was, of we belangstelling hadden? Op de terugweg reden we er langs. Gisteren gingen we opnieuw op bezoek en kozen we deze.

Met zo’n nestje hondjes beginnen de namen van de puppies met een volgende letter en voor dit nestje was de S aan de beurt.

Ze heet dus Sachi.

Sachi as a girls’ name is pronounced SAH-chee. It is of Japanese origin, and the meaning of Sachi is “child of joy”.

Mijn tante was altijd opgewekt en blij. Precies de bedoeling!
8 september is de gezinsuitbreiding.

Elly is mijn tante van het hondje Sachi en ‘tante van de oude toren’. Ik maakte toen nog een liedje voor haar, ze had het nog net gehoord. Op de terugweg uit Brussel gisteren reden we langs die toren.

Hey tante, het hondje is geregeld.
Die naam is een beetje anders.
wat zou het leuk zijn als je haar nog zag.
Ze heet Sachi.

I last visited my aunt Elly little over a year ago, a day before she passed away. As we were chatting I told her about how our kids wanted a puppy of their own and that they had decided it was to be a ‘Eurasiër’ (that’s an Asian/European crossbreed between Wolfsspits [keeshond], Chow-Chow and Samojed).

For me she was always my ‘aunt of the old tower’ as she and her husband used to live near the ruin of the Slotbosse tower of Oosterhout, when I grew up. For our children she was ‘aunt of doggy Sammy’. I promised my aunt they would get the puppy from her and she decided is was to be a female.

That night she sent me an SMS: she had thought of a name: ‘Hachi’, like in the movie Hachiko: A Dog’s Story (2009), about the friendship of a Japanese dog and his master.

In the year following many things changed in our lives, but not that puppy. Until we got a message this summer. A nest was born in Belgium that had three bitches, already a month old, and if we were maybe interested? A few days later on our way back from vacation we visited them and we did again yesterday. We choose this one.

With these puppies names start with sequential letter, for this nest names were to start with an S.

So we call her Sachi.

Sachi as a girls’ name is pronounced SAH-chee. It is of Japanese origin, and the meaning of Sachi is “child of joy”.

My aunt was the most cheerful happy person you ever met. Exactly right! September 8 we get our new family member.

Elly is now my ‘aunt of puppy Sachi’ ánd my ‘aunt of the old tower’. I sang her a song so titled at the funeral.

Driving home from Brussels yesterday, we took a detour to that old tower.

Hey aunt, that dog is finally here.
Though its name turned out slightly different.
what joy if by chance you would be able to see her still.
Her name is Sachi.

--

--

Rico Brouwer

creator of music, teacher, guitarist, parent. Works in ICT at office hours and beyond. @Potkaars @EchteSprookjes. PGP 0x11A04953 https://about.me/ricobrouwer